Aggies Populate All-Big West Academic Squads

July 1, 2014

Official Release Get Acrobat Reader

DAVIS, Calif. -- A total of 56 UC Davis student-athletes from 10 different winter and spring sports earned Big West Conference All-Academic, the league office announced Wednesday afternoon.

To be eligible for Big West All-Academic honors, student-athletes must hold a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, complete one full year at the member institution prior to the year for which the award is bestowed, and compete in at least 50 percent of their team's contests for that year.

All told, the Big West Conference had 406 total honorees in the sports of men's and women's basketball, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, men's and women's track & field, baseball, softball and water polo.

Among the winter sports, women's basketball featured four recipients, including third-time honoree Idit Oryon. Junior Brianna Salvatore landed her second award after missing 2012-13 squad due to injury, while sophomore Molly Greubel and junior Kelsey Harris each picked up such honors in their first years of eligibility.

From the diamond sports, softball had a seven-player contingent comprising seniors Kimberly Pena, Caitlin Voss and Chandler Wagner; and sophomores Christa Castello, Christina Guidry, Jasmine Lee and Alicia Paine. Six Aggie baseball players made the honor rolls, including third-time recipient Harry Stanwyck and second-year winner John Williams. They are joined by seniors Tino Lipson and Robert Parucha, and juniors Raul Jacobson and Izaak Silva.

From the links, senior Joshua Granger and junior Mike Brockington represented the UC Davis men's team while the trio of senior Jessica Chulya, junior Blair Lewis and sophomore Andrea Wong. Granger and Chulya are both second-time honorees in golf.

Five Aggies from the hardcourts garnered All-Academic nods. Among the women, senior Megan Heneghan picked up her maximum third award to go with her 2013-14 Big West Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year and W.P. Lindley Awards. Senior Melissa Kobayakawa claimed her second nod while junior Layla Sanders and sophomore Tiffany Pham each snared their first. Sophomore Brian Bacharach was the lone representative of the men's tennis team.

UC Davis women's tennis previously was honored with its seventh consecutive NCAA Public Recognition Award for outstanding Academic Progress Rate, and scored the Marya Welch Award for the athletic program's top women's team GPA.

A total of 21 student-athletes from the two track and field teams made the honor roll. On the men's side, junior Trevor Ehlenbach is a repeat winner while senior Grayson Hough, junior Trevor Halsted, and sophomores Cody Nguyen, Nicholas Ratto and Abhineet Ram garnered their first such awards. Halsted, a former Big West Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year and 2014 Capital One Academic All-American, has previously won Big West All-Academic accolades in cross country.

From the women's track & field team comes a whopping 14 honorees. Seniors Alycia Cridebring and Shannon Harcus each scored their sixth total Big West All-Academic awards between the fall and spring programs. Seniors Kellie Grigg and Kira Rienecker also made the conference's honor roll for the third straight season. Junior Katie Barber and senior Shanie Landen are also repeat winners. The remainder of the UC Davis delegation includes sophomores Siobhan Anderson, Erika Barr, Johanna Borst, Kelsey Drain, Christine Hoffman and Catherine Li; and juniors Cekarri Nixon and Veronica Smart.

Finally, a total of eight women's water polo players made the Spring All-Academic squad. Seniors Hannah Curran and Erin Schlueter each scored her third such award while juniors Elsie Fullerton and Jillian Wilding each picked up their second. Juniors Allyson Hansen and Keelia Houston, and sophomores Bryn Lutz and Hailey Wright are first-time honores.

UC Davis honorees (Year, Hometown, Major).

Molly Greubel (So., Santa Ana, Calif., Managerial Economics)
Kelsey Harris (Jr., Brea, Calif., Sociology)
Idit Oryon (Sr., Jerusalem, Israel, Political Science)
Brianna Salvatore (Jr., Villa Park, Calif., International Relations)

Raul Jacobson (Jr., Orinda, Calif., Organizational Studies)
Tino Lipson (Sr., El Cerrito, Calif., Psychology)
Robert Parucha (Sr., Manhattan Beach, Calif., Human Development)
Izaak Silva (Jr., Soquel, Calif., Communication)
Harry Stanwyck (Sr., Castro Valley, Calif., International Relations)
John Williams (Jr., Los Gatos, Calif., Economics)

Christa Castello (So., Concord, Calif., Human Development)
Christina Guidry (So., Folsom, Calif., Communication)
Jasmine Lee (So., Anaheim, Calif., Managerial Economics)
Alicia Paine (So., Hilmar, Calif., Mathematics)
Kimberly Pena (Sr., Rialto, Calif., Political Sciences)
Caitlin Voss (Sr., Santa Maria, Calif, Human Development)
Chandler Wagner (Sr., Trabuco Canyon, Calif., Exercise Biology)

Mike Brockington (Jr., Laguna Niguel, Calif., Economics)
Joshua Granger (Sr., Monrovia, Calif., Communication)

Jessica Chulya (Sr., Bangkok, Thailand, Economics)
Blair Lewis (Jr., La Mesa, Calif., Economics)
Andrea Wong (So., San Francisco, Calif., American Studies)

Brett Bacharach (So., Newcastle, Calif., Aerospace Science & Engineering)

Megan Heneghan (Sr., Tustin, Calif., Communication)
Melissa Kobayakawa (Sr., Cupertino, Calif., Nutrition Science)
Tiffany Pham (So., Elk Grove, Calif., Clinical Nutrition)
Layla Sanders (Jr., El Cerrito, Calif., Chemical Engineering)

Matthew Bender (Jr., Shafter, Calif., Mechanical Engineering)
Trevor Ehlenbach (Jr., San Rafael, Calif., Film Studies)
Trevor Halsted (Jr., Davis, Calif., Mechanical Engineering)
Grayson Hough (Sr., Davis, Calif, History)
Cody Nguyen (So., Yorba Linda, Calif., Mechanical Engineering)
Nicholas Ratto (So., Alameda, Calif., Political Science)
Abhineet Ram (So., Redwood City, Calif., Cell Biology)

Siobhan Anderson (So., Santa Rosa, Calif., Exercise Biology)
Katie Barber (Jr., Moorpark, Calif., Animal Science)
Erika Barr (So., Simi Valley, Calif., Exercise Biology)
Johanna Borst (So., San Jose, Calif., Exercise Biology)
Alycia Cridebring (Sr., Pleasant Hill, Calif., Environmental Science & Management)
Kelsey Drain (So., Carpinteria, Calif., Animal Science)
Kellie Grigg (Sr., Alameda, Calif., Managerial Economics)
Shannon Harcus (Sr., Auburn, Calif, Neurobiology, Physiology & Behavior)
Christine Hoffman (So., San Luis Obispo, Calif., Civil Engineering)
Shanie Landen (Sr., Sunnyvale, Calif., Biological Sciences)
Catherine Li (So., Los Altos, Calif., Animal Science)
Cekarri Nixon (Jr., Sacramento, Calif., Animal Science)
Kira Rienecker (Sr., San Jose, Calif., Genetics)
Veronica Smart (Jr., Daly City, Calif., Sociology)

Hannah Curran (Sr., Martinez, Calif., Civil Engineering)
Elsie Fullerton (Jr., Davis, Calif., Genetics)
Allyson Hansen (Jr., Concord, Calif., Human Development)
Keelia Houston (Jr., Davis, Calif., Political Science)
Bryn Lutz (So., Carlsbad, Calif., Animal Science)
Erin Schlueter (Sr., Mill Valley, Calif., Human Development)
Jillian Wilding (Jr., San Diego, Calif., Sustainable Agriculture)
Hailey Wright (So., Davis, CAlif., Environmental Science & Management)