Aggie trio earns NCAA postseason berths

March 20, 2017

DAVIS, Calif. - Sophomore all-arounder Alexis Brown, senior uneven bars specialist Yonni Michovska and sophomore Yasmine Yektaparast earned at-large berths to represent UC Davis at the NCAA Seattle Region gymnastics championships, hosted by the University of Washington at the Hec Edmundson Pavilion on Saturday, April 1.

Additionally, senior Katy Nogaki (vault), freshman Sarah Liddle (bars) and Yektaparast (floor exercise) are alternates for the meet in their respective events.

The Seattle field comprises team qualifiers Oklahoma, Kentucky, Utah State, Stanford, BYU and host Washington. Brown leads the group of all-around qualifiers, along with Sacramento State's Caitlin Soliwoda and Lauren Rice, and San Jose State's Kaitlin Won. Ariana Harger (vault) and Julia Konner (Sacramento State) made the cut on vault, Michovska joins San Jose State's Rachel Heinl on bars, Yektaparast and SJSU freshman Taylor Chan will compete on beam, while Chan and Harger earned the at-large spots on floor exercise.

Each of the six regional sites has six qualifying teams, plus the top four all-arounders not on one of the qualifying teams, then the top two event specialists not on a qualifying team nor among the all-around qualifiers. The rankings are based on the regional-qualifying scores as compiled by the website

This is the sixth consecutive year that UC Davis has sent at least two gymnasts to the postseason. Brown makes her second trip, having qualified for last year's Salt Lake Regional on bars and beam. This will be the first NCAA regional appearance for Yektaparast. Michovska makes her second trip to the NCAA postseason, having been a freshman when the Aggies qualified as a team in 2014.

The top two teams and top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Finals in St. Louis on April 14-15. Additionally, outright event winners at each regional will advance to the national championship, regardless of whether or not they qualify on a team or as an all-arounder.

Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion

TEAM QUALIFIERS - No. 1 Oklahoma, No. 12 Kentucky, No. 13 Washington (host), No. 24 Utah State, No. 32 Stanford, No. 34 BYU.

ALL-AROUND - Alexis Brown, UC Davis; Caitlin Soliwoda, Sacramento State; Lauren Rice, Sacramento State; Kaitlin Won, San Jose State. Alternate: Ariana Harger, Seattle Pacific.

VAULT - Ariana Harger, SPU; Julia Konner, Sac State. Alternate: Katy Nogaki, UC Davis.

UNEVEN BARS - Yonni Michovska, UC Davis; Rachel Heinl, SJSU. Alternate: Sarah Liddle, UC Davis.

BALANCE BEAM - Yasmine Yektaparast, UC Davis; Taylor Chan, SJSU. Alternate: Chelsey Andrada, SJSU.

FLOOR EXERCISE - Taylor Chan, SJSU; Ariana Harger, SPU. Alternate: Yasmine Yektaparast, UC Davis