UC Davis Dominates All-MPSF Gymnastics Honors

March 29, 2008

DAVIS, Calif. - UC Davis senior Michelle Kulovitz and Air Force junior Abbey Rogers were selected as co-recipients of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Gymnast of the Year award, it was announced at the conference championship meet Friday. Additionally, Kulovitz earned a total of three All-MPSF honors, capturing such distinction on vault, floor and the all-around.

Second-year Aggie head coach John Lavallee was named as MPSF Coach of the Year, while Teri Lavallee was selected as the conference's Assistant Coach of the Year.

UC Davis sophomore Tanya Ho was her team's most-acclaimed representative on the All-MPSF squads. She earned honors in the all-around, vault, uneven bars and floor. Freshman Stacey Nicolini matched Kulovitz' total of three All-MPSF awards, picking up such accolades on vault, balance beam and all-around.

Sophomore Michelle Bobonski and Lida Gehlen held the MPSF's top regional-qualifying scores (RQS) on vault and bars, respectively, to earn All-MPSF honors. Bobonski also added all-conference merit on bars. Other Aggies to earn All-MPSF merit are freshman Marcy Miller (vault), sophomore Kendall McCann (beam), junior Adee Schoffman (floor) and freshman Ashley Lachman (floor).

The All-MPSF teams were selected based on the RQS rankings heading into Friday's conference championship. The top-ranked gymnast for each school in each event is selected, plus the next four gymnasts in the rankings (regardless of team affiliation).



UC Davis won the 2008 MPSF title with a school-record 194.700 on Friday.


Michelle Bobonski, UC Davis - 9.805
Jessica Portlock, UAA - 9.750
Kelly Lewis, AFA - 9.620
Anissa Madrid, SPU - 9.565
Stacey Nicolini, UC Davis - 9.790
Michelle Kulovitz, UC Davis - 9.765
Marcy Miller, UC Davis - 9.725
Tanya Ho, UC Davis - 9.705

Lida Gehlen, UC Davis - 9.835
Kristy Boswell, UAA - 9.720
Christie Chinaka, SPU - 9.705
Michelle Denise, UAA - 9.610
Tanya Ho, UC Davis - 9.760
Michelle Bobonski, UC Davis - 9.720
Jessica Portlock, UAA - 9.710
Ashley Domres, SPU - 9.700

Anissa Madrid, SPU - 9.670
Abbey Rogers, AFA - 9.640
Stacey Nicolini, UC Davis - 9.635
Brooke Nall, UAA - 9.585
Brittany Dutton, AFA - 9.625
Kendall McCann, UC Davis - 9.595
Kayla Kincade, AFA - 9.580
Ashley Domres, SPU - 9.560
Leah Wilson, UAA - 9.560

Abbey Rogers, AFA - 9.810
Michelle Kulovitz, UC Davis - 9.790
Kelsey Fullerton, UAA - 9.730
Brianna Steigauf, SPU - 9.725
Adee Schoffman, UC Davis - 9.690
Jessica Portlock, UAA - 9.660
Michelle Denise, AFA - 9.630
Ashley Lachman, UC Davis - 9.610
Tanya Ho, UC Davis - 9.610

Abbey Rogers, AFA - 38.240
Tanya Ho - UC Davis - 37.940
Ashley Domres, SPU - 37.565
Courtney Williams, UAA - 37.485
Michelle Denise, AFA - 38.005
Brittany Dutton, AFA - 37.915
Michelle Kulovitz, UC Davis - 37.815
Stacey Nicolini, UC Davis - 37.730