Five Aggies Earn MPSF All-Academic

Katie Yamamura (above) and Michelle Ho (cover) each garnered a maximum third MPSF All-Academic nod.
(Mark Honbo, Athletics Communications)

April 25, 2013

DAVIS, Calif. - Five UC Davis gymnasts were selected to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic team, it was announced by the conference office on Thursday. Alphabetically, the Aggie honorees are senior Michelle Ho, junior Madeline Kennedy, junior Anna Shumaker, sophomore Lisa Wiktorski and senior Katie Yamamura.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must hold a grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, have at least sophomore academic standing, have completed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season, and have competed in a minimum of 50 percent of the team's competitions during that year.

A total of 16 MPSF gymnasts won All-Academic accolades. Seattle Pacific had six honorees, Alaska-Anchorage had three and the Air Force Academy had one. Yamamaura and UAA's Emily Petersen tied for the highest GPA at 3.93.

This is the maximum third MPSF All-Academic nod for both Ho and Yamamura. Kennedy repeats her award from 2012, while Shumaker and Wiktorski each picked up their first.

UC Davis enjoyed perhaps its best season in program history, compiling a school-record regional qualifying score of 194.780 and winning its fourth straight MPSF championship in late March. Ho, Shumaker and Yamamura advanced to the NCAA Corvallis Regional. As a team, the Aggies posted six of the highest scores in school history, including a record 195.625 on March 15.