Four Aggies Earn Academic All-MPSF

Senior Erika Van Dyke earned MPSF All-Academic for the maximum three years.
(Mark Honbo, Athletics Communications)

April 27, 2012

DAVIS, Calif. - Four Aggies - senior Erika Van Dyke, junior Katie Yamamura, junior Michelle Ho and sophomore Madeline Kennedy - captured Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic honors for women's gymnastics, it was announced by the league office on Friday.

To be eligible for such honors, student-athletes must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better, be at least a sophomore academically, have completed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season for which the award is presented, and have appeared in at least 50 percent of the season's competition in the respective sport.

This is the third such award for Van Dyke, whose 3.98 GPA tied Seattle Pacific's Aditi Kulkarni for the highest in the conference. She has claimed All-Academic honors from the national coaches' association during her first three years. Yamamura and Ho picked up their second MPSF scholar-athlete nods while Kennedy received her first.

UC Davis won the MPSF team title with a 193.675 in late March. Yamamura, named MPSF Gymnast of the Year, later competed in the NCAA West Regional.