West, Ho Named As 2013 Team Captains

Michelle Ho and Taryn West will serve as team co-captains during their 2013 senior years.
(Carolyn Kampf, UC Davis Women's Gymnastics)

April 28, 2012

DAVIS, Calif. - Current juniors Taryn West and Michelle Ho were selected as team captains for the 2013 UC Davis women's gymnastics season, head coach John Lavallee announced at the team banquet Saturday evening. Additionally, junior Katie Yamamura, sophomores Madeline Kennedy and Anna Shumaker, and freshman Tiana Montell were honored with Outstanding Contribution awards.

Ho and West replace the program's lone 2012 seniors, Erika Van Dyke and Lauren Eller. Ho captured All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation honors on both uneven bars and floor exercise, while West won similar status on floor.

The Outstanding Contribution awards are bestowed in lieu of the more traditional Most Valuable or Most Inspirational awards. Montell and Yamamura each qualified for the NCAA Seattle Regional and finished 1-2 for the conference all-around title in March. Yamamura also captured MPSF Gymnast of the Year distinction. Kennedy competed on vault, beam and floor in all 12 meets, earning All-MPSF honors in two events and winning the conference beam championship. Shumaker, a 2011 NCAA regional qualifier, made a heroic return from offseason surgery to earn all-conference status on both vault and beam.

UC Davis won its third straight MPSF team title with a winning score of 193.675 back in March. The upcoming season will begin in January 2013.