Yektaparast, Presswood named 2018 captains

April 29, 2017

DAVIS, Calif. - UC Davis women's gymnastics announced its 2017 season awards and unveiled the team co-captains of the 2018 season in its annual team banquet at Aggie Stadium Saturday night.

Junior Alexis Brown, junior Miranda Holder, sophomore Yasmine Yektaparast and sophomore Kara Jones garnered the team's Outstanding Contribution awards, head coach John Lavallee's version of the more common Most Valuable and/or Most Inspirational honors. This is the third consecutive team award for Brown, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Gymnast of the Year; the second each for both Holder and Yektaparast, and the first for Jones.

The annual team banquet also introduces the team captains, as voted by the gymnasts following the season. Replacing outgoing captains Katy Nogaki, Yonni Michovska and Emma Hicks are Yektaparast and junior Amanda Presswood.

UC Davis ranked 42nd nationally and first in the MPSF with a 195.105 regional-qualifying score. Nine Aggies won all-conference awards, while three -- Brown, Michovska and Yektaparast -- earned individual at-large berths to the NCAA Seattle Regional. Lavallee picked up his sixth career MPSF Coach of the Year nod. UC Davis also set school balance beam records for a team (49.225) and an individual (9.925, by Nogaki) during the season.