Kennedy, Shumaker Named 2014 Captains

Maddy Kennedy and Anna Shumaker were voted as 2014 team captains by their teammates.
(John Lavallee, UC Davis Women's Gymnastics)

May 5, 2013

DAVIS, Calif. - UC Davis juniors Madeline Kennedy and Anna Shumaker were voted as team co-captains for the 2013 season, while Kennedy, Shumaker, sophomore Tiana Montell and senior Katie Yamamura each garnered "Outstanding Contributions" awards, head women's gymnastics coach John Lavallee announced at his team banquet Saturday.

The Outstanding Contributions have been a tradition in Lavallee's program, bestowed in lieu of the more common Most Valuable and Most Inspirational types of awards. Oddly, the four winners match exactly the slate of four recipients from the 2012 season.

After two injury-plagued seasons, Shumaker blossomed into a four-event performer in 2013. She won four All-MPSF awards and scored 39 or better in the all-around in three consecutive meets. In doing so, Shumaker also became just the second Aggie (after Yamamura) to break the 39-point barrier more than once in a career. She also snared the final at-large all-around berth to the NCAA Corvallis Regional, hitting 4-for-4 with scores of 9.800 on vault and beam at that meet. In the classroom, Shumaker picked up her first MPSF All-Academic award.

As she had in 2012, Kennedy garnered an Outstanding Contributions award for her versatility and consistency: she scored as high as 9.800 on vault, beam and floor during the year. She captured all-conference on vault with her regional-qualifying score of 9.715 while adding a fifth-place finish on the balance beam at the MPSF Championships. Kennedy also excelled outside the gym, securing her second straight Academic All-MPSF award.

The captains are voted by the team members. Shumaker and Kennedy replace outgoing seniors Taryn West and Michelle Ho.



Yamamura wrapped up what is arguably the most outstanding overall career in UC Davis women's gymnastics history. She earned her second straight Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Gymnast of the Year, qualified for the NCAA West Regionals for a third time, and captured All-MPSF honors in all five categories for another year. She twice scored a school-record 39.325 all-around in 2013, while adding a conference title in that event. Academically, Yamamura won an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Award and was a finalist for the Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sports Scholar of the Year award.

Montell, who captured the conference all-around title and qualified for a region meet as a freshman, followed up that season by earning All-MPSF distinction on vault and balance beam. She scored 9.7 or better on vault 10 times, including a career-high 9.850 in a road quadrangular at San Jose State. Montell also scored 9.800 on vault on two other occasions, scored 9.700 or better three times on bars and averaged 9.679 on beam after joining the lineup in early February.

UC Davis won its fourth consecutive MPSF championship in 2013. More importantly, the Aggies compiled an RQS of 194.780 - almost a full tenth ahead of the school record entering the season.