Cuenin, DeJesus capture All-MPSF honors

April 26, 2017

DAVIS, Calif. - UC Davis midfielders Taylor Cuenin and Kelsey DeJesus were selected to the All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation squads for women’s lacrosse, the conference office announced Wednesday afternoon. Cuenin made the first team while DeJesus was chosen to the second team, as voted by the MPSF’s coaches.

This is the second all-conference nod for Cuenin, a sophomore neurobiology, physiology & behavior student from Danville, California and San Ramon Valley High. Despite missing two games and playing limited minutes during a third due to injury, she led UC Davis in goals (42), total points (53), ground balls (52) and caused turnovers (school-record 51), while ranking second on the team in draw controls (48). Cuenin currently ranks second nationally in CTs at 3.40 per game while her 3.47 GBs per game puts her 11th. She is also the only player to rank among the MPSF top 10 in both goals and all four “hustle” stats – ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers. 

Cuenin, a second-team All-MPSF pick in 2016, also garnered back-to-back MPSF Defensive Player of the Week awards on April 3 and April 10. The first such nod arrived after posting eight CTs in an 8-5 road win at Mount Saint Mary’s, a feat that set a UC Davis record, tied the conference benchmark, and tied the No. 2 single-game total for any NCAA Division I player in 2017.

DeJesus, a junior psychology major from San Diego’s Scripps Ranch High School, ranked second to Cuenin in both ground balls (35) and caused turnovers (17). She also provided 26 draw controls, and scored 21 goals with 11 assists for 32 points on the offensive end. DeJesus, who ranks seventh in the MPSF with 2.06 GBs per game, also enjoyed two of her best offensive games in conference play: a season-best four goals at Saint Mary’s and another hat trick at Cal.

USC’s Michaela Michael earned MPSF Player of the Year while teammate Kerrigan Miller won Rookie of the Year accolades. Colorado’s Ann Elliott captured the conference’s Coach of the Year award.