UC Davis Wins Cal Cup For Second Straight Year

UC Davis was victorious in the Cal Cup on Sunday at the San Diego Crew Classic.
UC Davis was victorious in the Cal Cup on Sunday at the San Diego Crew Classic.

April 6, 2008

San Diego Crew Classic Home Page

Race results of varsity eight's grand final

Race results of novice eight's grand final

Results of all races

SAN DIEGO, Calif. -- The defending champion UC Davis women's rowing varsity eight took an early lead and held off the University of San Diego on its way to claiming the Cal Cup for the second straight year at the San Diego Crew Classic on Sunday morning at Mission Bay.

The Aggies' novice eight also advanced to a grand final on Sunday morning, finishing fourth in 7:18.72.

The top-seeded varsity eight was timed in 6 minutes, 48.30 seconds while racing out of lane 2 in the grand final, holding off San Diego by approximately two seats at the finish line of the 2,000-meter race. The Tritons were timed in 6:49.39 and were followed by SUNY-Buffalo (6:51.41) and Sacramento State (6:53.96). San Diego State and Kanas State finished fifth and sixth, respectively.

Sacramento State got off to a slight early lead, covering the first 500 meters in 1:37.12 with UC Davis (1:37.49) and San Diego State (1:37.77) close behind. The Aggies took the lead at the 1,000-meter mark after turning in a 1:44.47 piece before nearly matching that split over the next. They led by almost a second heading into the final 500 meters.

UC Davis and San Diego rowed near-identical times over the final 500 meters to grab the top two spots. The Aggies were making their fourth straight appearance in the Cal Cup grand final. They advanced to the championship race after turning in a season-best time of 6:33.56 and winning their preliminary race on Saturday.

"The varsity did a great job this weekend keeping their composure and confidence up while defending their victory from last season," said head coach Carissa Adams. "I am very proud of every single one of the rowers on our squad. They have all pulled together and worked really hard to continue to strive to take our program to the next level.



"The Cal Cup was full of competitors that we will be facing in the WIRA (Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association) Championships in May," she added. "They are all very strong and we know they will be gaining speed. The coaching staff feels really good about the progress the team has made thus far and is really excited about the prospects for the future."

Rowing for the varsity this weekend were Tara Davis at coxswain, Sunny Caldwell at stroke, Alicia Foley at seven, May Roberts at six, Vanessa Cuellar at five, Heidi Okowitz, Darcy Ward at three, Erin Andrews at two and Laura Kelleher at bow.

UC Davis advanced to the collegiate novice eight grand final with a second-place finish to Washington State on Saturday in its preliminary heat. The Cougars rode that momentum to post a win in Sunday's grand final, posting a time of 7:03.90 after leading after each piece. The Aggies were in third after 500 meters before being overtaken by San Diego State at the halfway point.

UC Davis was about four seconds behind third-place Washington as teams entered the final 500 meters but was ahead of fifth-place Southern Cal by five seconds. The Aggies extended their advantage over the Trojans down the stretch, crossing the finish line ahead of them by almost eight seconds.

Rowing for the novices were Natasha Loghamour at coxswain, Samantha Houston at stroke, Allison Bruton at seven, Brittani De Riemer at six, Elieke Demmer at five, Autumn Huey at four, Lauren Auble at three, Melissa McCue at two and Christine Neuman at bow.

The San Diego Crew Classic is in its 35th year and is one of the nation's largest regattas featuring crews from throughout the country.


Mission Bay (San Diego, Calif.)

UC Davis results only

VARSITY EIGHT CAL CUP (grand final) - 1. UC Davis, 6:48.30; 2. San Diego, 6:49.39; 3. SUNY-Buffalo, 6:51.41; 4. Sacramento State, 6:53.96; 5. San Diego State, 6:59.30; 6. Kansas State, 7:02.15.

COLLEGIATE NOVICE EIGHT (grand final) - 1. Washington State, 7:03.90; 2. San Diego State, 7:05.68; 3. Washington State, 7:09.60; 4. UC Davis, 7:18.72; 5. USC, 7:26.06; 6. Orange Coast College, 7:31.05.