UC Davis Captures Three Medals At WIRA Championships

UC Davis boats had a trio of top-three finishes at the WIRA Championships.
UC Davis boats had a trio of top-three finishes at the WIRA Championships.

May 2, 2010

Complete Sunday WIRA Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

GOLD RIVER, Calif. - The UC Davis varsity four won a silver medal with its second-place finish in its grand final and the second varsity eight and second novice eight each earned bronze medals, as the Aggie women's rowing team finished third overall among NCAA Div. I teams at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships at Lake Natoma on Sunday morning.

UC Davis had five boats competing in grand finals on Sunday, also earning a fourth-place from the varsity eight and a fifth from the novice eight, both which finished highly in prelims on Saturday to advance to Sunday's racing.

The WIRA Championships, which had more than 30 schools competing, serves as the conference championship for the Aggies who won the team title in 2008. This season, they were third among Div. I teams with 347 points. San Diego was the highest-placing Div. I team with 392 while Sacramento State was second (382) and Gonzaga (304) placed fourth.

That finish was made possible by five boats in grand finals at Lake Natoma.

The varsity four won a close three-way battle for second place in its grand final, crossing the finish line of the 2,000-meter course in 7 minutes, 47.0 seconds. The Aggies held of rival Sacramento State (7:49.4) and Gonzaga (7:50.0) for the silver medal. Gonzaga (7:42.8) captured the gold.

The second varsity eight earned a bronze medal in its grand final, a very fast race which was won by Gonzaga in 6:34.6. The University of San Diego was second in 6:41.2, crossing just in front of UC Davis which was timed in 6:42.9. The Hornets took fourth (6:43.7) in another close three-team battle for second place.

Another bronze medal came from the second novice eight which placed behind UC Santa Barbara (7:36.1) and Humboldt State (7:46.9) but with a time of 7:51.9 finished ahead of three other crews.

UC Davis' varsity eight and novice eight boats earned their spots in Sunday's grand finals with second-place finishes during preliminary races on Saturday. The varsity crew finished just out of the medal hunt, taking fourth on Sunday in 7:05.3 with Sacramento State (6:56.5) San Diego (6:59.0) and Gonzaga (6:59.3) placing in the top three spots.

The novices were fifth in their grand final in 7:37.3, placing close to fourth-place Sacramento State (7:33.8) and well ahead of sixth-place San Diego (7:53.0). Gonzaga (7:19.9) finished first.

UC Davis had a successful spring season, highlighted by its exciting varsity eight win over rival Sacramento State for the Jean Runyon Cup. The varsity eight won six races, and the program received a vote for top-20 consideration in the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association/USRowing poll.

Lake Natoma (Gold River, Calif.)
UC Davis results only
All grand finals

Varsity Four - 1. San Diego, 7:42.8, 2. UC Davis, 7:47.0; 2. Sacramento State, 7:49.4; 5. Gonzaga, 7:50.0, 5. San Diego State, 7:52.1; 6. Santa Clara, 8:29.8; 7. LMU, 8:35.7.

Second Novice Eight - 1. UC Santa Barbara, 7:36.1; 2. Humboldt State, 7:46.9; 3. UC Davis, 7:51.9; 4. San Diego, 7:55.6; 5. Orange Coast, 8:02.2; 6. UC San Diego, 8:51.2.

Novice Eight - 1. Gonzaga, 7:19.9; 2. UC Santa Barbara, 7:24.4; 3. San Diego State, 7:26.3; 4. Sacramento State, 7:33.8; 5. UC Davis, 7:37.3; 6. San Diego, 7:53.0.

Second Varsity Eight - 1. Gonzaga, 6:34.6; 2. San Diego, 6:41.2; 3. UC Davis, 6:42.9; 4. Sacramento State, 6:43.7; 5. Puget Sound, 6:47.6; 6. San Diego State, 6:49.3; 7. LMU, 6:53.9.

Varsity Eight - 1. Sacramento State, 6:56.5; 2. San Diego, 6:59.0; 3. Gonzaga, 6:59.3; 4. UC Davis, 7:05.3; 5. San Diego State, 7:12.7; 6. P:uget Sound, 7:28.5.

Varsity Eight - Lia D'Angelo (coxswain), 8. Brittani De Riemer, 7. Danielle Long, 6. Autumn Huey, 5. Darcy Ward, 4. Paige Kendall, 3. Christine Bernatz, 2. Becca Lindquist, 1. Emily Roberts.

Second Varsity Eight - Valentina Ferrari (coxswain), 8. Haleigh King, 7. Hannah Owens, 6. Elieke Demmer, 5. Tara Trakin, 4. Maggie Burke, 3. Brittney O'Brien, 2. Brooke O'Brien, 1. Lily Dickson.

Varsity Four - Angeliki Bundros (coxswain), 4. Garen Garza, 3. Bianca Sievers, 2. Danika Reddick, 1. Robyn Bryson.

Novice Eight - 1. Jessica Kepes (coxswain), 8. Rachel Morowitz, 7. Casey Olson, 6. Jessica Cvetko, 5. Caryn Covella, 4. Marissa Clark, 3. Alison Tarke, 2. Vivienne Hazzard, 1. Melanie LaCava.

Second Novice Eight - Melissa Maduell (coxswain), 8. Anais Flynn, 7. Geneva Azevedo, 6. Shannon Bird, 5. Ashley Lasher, 4. Jenn Sheldon, 3. Catherine Woodward, 2. Jayne Aclan, 1. Liz Bradley.