Aggie Rowers Return To Action At Prestigious San Diego Crew Classic

UC Davis will compete at the San Diego Crew Classic this weekend.
UC Davis will compete at the San Diego Crew Classic this weekend.

March 30, 2007

Live results and full San Diego Crew Classic information

Tentative schedule in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

MISSION BAY, Calif.-- The UC Davis women's rowing team will look to earn a spot in the grand final of the Cal Cup for the third straight year when it competes on Saturday and Sunday in the San Diego Crew Classic at Crown Point Shores Park.

The Aggies have been been idle since March 10 when the varsity eight beat San Diego State at the Port of Sacramento. This weekend, the varsity eight will join th novice eight at the San Diego Crew Classic, one of the country's largest regattas which brings together some of the top crews in collegiate rowing.

The varsity eight will open competition on Saturday at 8:20 a.m. when it races in the third of three preliminary races for the Cal Cup. The Aggies, who will be in lane 1, will battle Kansas State, West Virginia, Lehigh, Chapman and Claremont. St. Joseph's, Villanova, Saint Mary's, UC Santa Barbara, Sonoma State and Arizona State will race in the first heat, followed by SUNY-Buffalo, San Diego, Temple, Santa Clara and UC Irvine in the second heat.

The grand final for the Cal Cup will be contested at 11 a.m. on Sunday. The Aggies earned a spot in the grand final for the second consecutive year last year when they finished second in their preliminary race, crossing in 6 minutes, 47.57 seconds. They went on to finish sixth in the grand final which was won by Miami. UC Davis was fifthin 2005.

UC Davis' novice eight will race in the third prelim heat of its division, scheduled for Saturday morning at 10:50. The Aggies, who will be in lane 3, will face UCLA, Stanford, San Diego State, West Virginia, UC Irvine and Sonoma State. Each of the the three heats will feature a full complement of seven crews, including boats from Oregon State, Washington State, Clemson, USC, Cal and Kansas State.

The novice eight grand final is scheduled for 9:45 a.m. on Sunday while the petite final will be at 8:10. Last season, UC Davis finished fourth in its preliminary heat before taking second in the third final.

Racing on Saturday begins at 7:30 a.m. and continues until 4:50 p.m. with Sunday's schedule starting at 7:30 as well.


VARSITY EIGHT- Katherine Cobarrubia (coxswain), Sunny Caldwell at stroke, Sarah Kay at seven, May Roberts at six, Vanessa Cuellar at five, Erica Southard at four, Laura Kelleher at three, Amber Buntin at two, Angela Bruno at bow.

NOVICE EIGHT - Krista Rindell (coxswain), Susan Crow at stroke, Alicia Foley at seven, Castiel Shepp at six, Darcy Ward at five, Elizabeth Bache at four, Claire Swanback at three, Delaney Chapman at two, Melissa Wong at bow.