Jean Runyon Cup At Stake In Rowing On Saturday

UC Davis will face rival Sacramento State on Saturday morning.
UC Davis will face rival Sacramento State on Saturday morning.

April 24, 2009

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The UC Davis women's rowing team travels to Lake Natoma on Saturday to face rival Sacramento State with the varsity eight looking to win the Jean Runyon Cup for the third consecutive year.

The Aggies and Hornets will compete in four races beginning with the varsity eight race at 8:10 a.m. A combined race with the second varsity eight and novice eight crews will start at 8:30 a.m. and be followed by the second novice eight race at 10 a.m. and the varsity four at 10:20 a.m.

The varsity eight crews will be competing for the 13th annual Jean Runyon Cup which was first awarded in 1997. UC Davis won the initial showdown before the Hornets strung together nine straight wins.

The Aggies regained the Jean Runyon Cup in 2007 after rallying from an early deficit to post a narrow half-second win at Lake Natoma. UC Davis held the trophy again last season, taking an early lead at the Port of Sacramento en route to an 11-second victory over Sacramento State.

The Aggies' rowing team has won four of five races overall in each of the past two years. This marks the first meeting between the teams this season.

UC Davis has not raced competitively since competing in the San Diego Crew Classic on Apr. 4-5, a regatta in which the Aggies faced many of the top varsity eight crews in the country.

Besides the Jean Runyon Cup, the varsity eight race will also feature five points toward the Causeway Cup, an all-sports competition between the schools which is now in its fifth season. Each school has won the Causeway Cup twice.

Sacramento State leads 51.67 to 41.33 with 55.33 points needed to clinch the title. The Causeway Classic track dual - which will have 10 points between the men's and women's competitions up for grabs - will be held next Friday at Sacramento State.

Saturday, Apr. 25
Lake Natoma (Gold River, Calif.)

Varsity eight - 8:10 a.m.
Second varsity eight/novice eight - 8:30 a.m.
Second novice eight - 10 a.m.
Varsity four - 10:20 a.m.



More Headlines

  • W. Rowing | 05/02/2010
    UC Davis Captures Three Medals At WIRA Champion...

    The UC Davis varsity four won a silver medal with its second-place finish in its grand final and the second varsity eight and second novice eight each earned bronze medals, as the Aggie women's rowing team finished third overall among NCAA Div. I teams at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Associ... MORE

  • W. Rowing | 05/01/2010
    UC Davis Rows Into WIRA Grand Finals

    Both the UC Davis women's varsity eight and novice eight crews finished second in preliminary heats on Saturday morning, advancing to grand finals on Sunday at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships at Lake Natoma. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 04/30/2010
    UC Davis Looks For Gold At WIRA Championships

    UC Davis, which captured the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association women's team title in 2008, returns to Lake Natoma this weekend looking to capture gold medals and make a run at another championship. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 04/18/2010
    Varsity Eight Posts Comeback Win At NorCal/SoCal

    UC Davis' varsity eight posted its sixth win of the season, and its second comeback in as many weeks, as the Aggies edged San Diego State on Sunday morning at the Port of Sacramento, highlighting the women's rowing team's action on the second day of the NorCal/SoCal Challenge. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 04/17/2010
    UC Davis Sweeps Races At NorCal/SoCal Challenge

    Led by a pair of wins from the varsity eight - including one in a near season-best time - the UC Davis women's rowing team won each of its races on Saturday during the first day of competition of the NorCal/SoCal Challenge at the Port of Sacramento. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 04/16/2010
    UC Davis To Host NorCal/SoCal Callenge

    The UC Davis women's team, coming off races with rival Sacramento State last weekend, will return to action on Saturday when the Aggies host the NorCal/SoCal Challenge at the Port of Sacramento. Racing begins at 8:45 a.m MORE

  • W. Rowing | 04/10/2010
    UC Davis Reclaims Jean Runyon Cup Over Hornets

    The UC Davis varsity eight made up a boat-length's deficit down the stretch against rival Sacramento State, reclaiming the Jean Runyon Cup and helping highlight the rowing team's Causeway Classic showdown with the Hornets at the Port of Sacramento. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 04/09/2010
    UC Davis To Host Hornets For Jean Runyon Cup

    Rivalry takes center for the UC Davis women's rowing team this weekend when the Aggies host Sacramento State in a Causeway Classic dual which featuring the annual Jean Runyon Cup showdown between the varsity eight programs. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 03/28/2010
    Aggies Win Varsity Eight Petite Final At Crew C...

    The UC Davis women's rowing team varsity eight - narrowly edged Saturday for a spot in the Jessop-Whittier Cup grand final - came back on Sunday morning to win the event's petite final at the San Diego Crew Classic at Mission Bay Park. MORE

  • W. Rowing | 03/27/2010
    Aggies To Compete In Petite Final In San Diego

    Radcliffe edged UC Davis by just .07 of a second on Saturday morning during a preliminary heat of the Jessop-Whittier Cup varsity eight invitational, claiming the final spot in the grand final at the San Diego Crew Classic. MORE