WIRA Championships Set For This Weekend

UC Davis will return to action after a two-week break to race at the WIRA Championships.
UC Davis will return to action after a two-week break to race at the WIRA Championships.

May 1, 2003

WIRA Championships Schedule

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The Sacramento State women's rowing team will serve as host of the 26-school Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships this weekend (Saturday, May 3, and Sunday, May 4) on Lake Natoma in Rancho Cordova, Calif.

Saturday's regatta will consist of 49 races (26 on the women's side, 23 on the men's side), beginning at 8 a.m., and continuing to approximately 5 p.m. Sunday's competition, which includes the grand finals for each event, consists of 22 races (11 on the women's side, 11 on the men's side) beginning at 8 a.m. and ending at approximately noon.

The women's varsity eight competition will begin Saturday with three heats at 1 p.m., 1:10 p.m. and 1:20 p.m., respectively. The grand final takes place Sunday at 11:45 a.m. A total of 19 schools will compete for the women's varsity eight championship comprising of No. 1-seed San Diego, No. 2 Loyola Marymount, No. 3 Gonzaga, No. 4 Sacramento State, No. 5 UC Davis, No. 6 UC Irvine, No. 7 San Diego State, No. 8 Pacific Lutheran, No. 9 Puget Sound, No. 10 Western Washington, No. 11 Willamette, No. 12 Santa Clara, No. 13 UC Santa Barbara, No. 14 Long Beach State, No. 15 UC San Diego, No. 16 Humboldt State, No. 17 Saint Mary's, No. 18 Chapman and No. 19 Lewis & Clark.

Gonzaga won last year's women's varsity eight competition, followed by Sacramento State, San Diego, San Diego State and Loyola Marymount to round out the top five. The Hornets won the WIRA title in 2000 and 2001, and will be looking for their third varsity eight title in the last four years.

Other grand final times on Sunday include the women's novice eight (10 a.m.), women's second varsity eight (10:40 a.m.), women's lightweight eight (11 a.m.), men's novice eight (10:10 a.m.), men's second varsity eight (10:50 a.m.), men's lightweight eight (11:10 a.m.) and men's varsity eight (noon).

A complete schedule is available in PDF version above.