Lake Natoma To Host Regatta This Weekend

UC Davis rowers return to action this weekend at Lake Natoma. <br> (Wayne Tilcock, Davis Enterprise)
UC Davis rowers return to action this weekend at Lake Natoma.
(Wayne Tilcock, Davis Enterprise)

May 15, 2003

Pacific Coast Rowing Championships Schedule
Pacific-10 Conference Championships Schedule

RANCHO CORDOVA, Calif. - A Look at the Regattas

* The CSUS Aquatic Center - a program of Associated Students, Inc. - on Lake Natoma in Rancho Cordova, Calif., is the site of the annual Pacific Coast Rowing Championships (PCRC's) on Saturday, May 17, and the Pac-10 Conference Championships on Sunday, May 18.

* Saturday's regatta, the PCRC's, is open to all schools in the West Region, which includes any rowing institution located in the states of Washington, Oregon, California, Colorado and Arizona. A total of 16 schools will be represented at the regatta which offers individual championships in every collegiate rowing category not offered in Sunday's Pac-10 Championships. The event is scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. and will run until approximately 4 p.m. The Sacramento State women will compete in both the novice four (8:30 a.m.) and novice lightweight four (3:30 p.m.) categories. The Hornets' morning race (novice four) is a heat while the afternoon race (novice lightweight four) is a grand final.

* Sunday's regatta, the Pac-10 Conference Championships, is limited to the top 21 entrants for each event in the West Region, which includes each of the seven Pac-10 rowing institutions (Cal, Washington State, Stanford, Oregon State, Washington, UCLA and USC; Oregon is club status). The Pac-10's offer races in the varsity eight, second varsity eight, varsity four and the novice eight categories. The event is scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. and will run until approximately 3 p.m. If year's past at the Pac-10 Championships are any indication, the top three or four finishers in the varsity eight grand final are likely to be selected to compete in the NCAA Championships on May 30-June 1 at Eagle Creek Reservoir in Indianapolis. The women's varsity eight will feature two qualifying heats (10 a.m., 10:10 a.m.) with the top three in each heat advancing to the grand final at 2:40 p.m. Places four, five and six in each of the two qualifying heats will advance to the petite final (2:20 p.m.). There will be no third-level final.

* Each of the 13 institutions in the women's varsity eight competition on Sunday were seeded and placed into the qualifying heats accordingly. Seeds one through 10 are as follows: 1-Washington, 2-Cal, 3-Stanford, 4-USC, 5-Washington State, 6-Oregon State, 7-UCLA, 8-Loyola Marymount, 9-Sacramento State, 10-UC Davis. Sacramento State, whose qualifying heat is scheduled for 10 a.m. and features 11-time defending champion Washington, USC and Washington State among others, needs to finish at least third to advance to the grand final.

* The Pac-10's will mark the end of the women's rowing regular season. Since the advent of the NCAA Championships in 1997, holding the Pac-10's on the final weekend allows the selection committee to compare virtually all the West Coast (Pac-10 and non Pac-10) crews under comparable race conditions. With no time standard to meet, boats competing in the NCAA Women's Rowing Championships will be named by a selection committee two days after the Pac-10's, on May 20.

Sacramento State's varsity eight lineup for Sunday will be as follows: Chanel Patterson at bow, Brittney Claycamp at the two seat, Sara Crain at three, Jennifer Boyer at four, Laura Harder at five, Stephanie Brow at six, Katie Litvinchuk at seven, Sarah McKenzie at stroke and Christy Clifton at coxswain. The Hornets' novice eight (9 a.m. heat time) and second varsity eight (9:30 a.m. heat time) will also be competing in the Pac-10s.

* Like last year, the NCAA will sanction a separate championship for the Div. I, II and III levels. A total of 16 schools will advance to this year's NCAA Div. I Championship, with the top 12 teams (varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four) in the country, and four at-large varsity eight boats advancing to the regatta.