Roadrunners Edge Aggies, 2-1, For Easton TOC Title

April 6, 2003

Easton Tournament of Champions Information

MODESTO, Calif. - Third baseman Katie King's double to right field with two outs in the seventh inning scored catcher Tara Licuana with the go-ahead run as Cal State Bakersfield edged No.4 UC Davis, 2-1, on Sunday night to claim the title of the 2003 Easton Tournament of Champions at Rainbow Fields.

UC Davis, which went 5-3 in the tournament and is 30-9 overall, beat No.9 Western New Mexico, 2-0, in the Gold Bracket championship quarterfinals before coming from behind to beat Western Washington for a 5-3 win in the semifinals.

Cal St. Bakersfield improved to 32-16 with the win.

Pitcher Susan Churchwell, who earned both wins for the Aggies on Sunday and finished the tournament with a trio of home runs, was named to the all-tournament first team along with third baseman Lindsay Moore. Moore had a home run in Sunday's win over Western New Mexico (36-4).

King's single up the middle off Churchwell in the first inning staked the Roadruners to a 1-0 lead in the title game, but the Aggies responded in the bottom of the inning as Churchwell singled to score left-fielder Jennifer Borrelli from third to knot the game, 1-1. The game stayed tied until King's double in the seventh off UC Davis freshman Rachel Kelly put the Roadrunners in the lead for good.

Roadrunner pitcher Erin Kelly scattered five hits to earn the win, striking out seven and walking none. She was named the tournament's MVP. Churchwell had two hits in the championship game as did second baseman Kristin Herrera. Churchwell pitched the first three innings before being relieved by Kelly in the fourth. Kelly suffered the loss, falling to 1-1.

UC Davis moved into the tournament final after avenging an earlier loss to Western Washington (16-13). The Vikings, who beat the Aggies during pool play on Saturday, scored three runs on three hits and a pair of errors in the second inning for a quick 3-0 lead.



Trailing 3-1, UC Davis scored four times in the sixth, capitalizing on three hits and two errors. First baseman Sue Yale had a two-run homer to left for one of the inning's key hits, while Borrelli doubled in another run.

Churchwell had five strikeouts and a just one walk, earning the win after giving up just three hits, all of them singles. In addition to her home run, Yale also doubled as part of her three hits, while Borrelli went 2 for 4.

After finishing pool play with a 3-2 record, the Aggies advanced to the Gold Bracket playoffs - made up of the top two finishers from each of the four pools - and faced ninth-ranked Western New Mexico. A pitcher's duel ensued between Churchwell and Mustangs starter Angela Slaugh.

Both hurlers allowed just three hits, but the Aggies were able to take advantage of theirs. Sophomore Megan Turman tripled to center in the first inning, scoring Borrelli with UC Davis' first run, while Moore homered with two outs in the sixth for the Aggies' insurance run.

Churchwell struck out seven in the win and walked just two, while Slaugh also walked a pair and had 11 strikeouts.

Churchwell finished the tournament with a .391 batting average (9 for 23), while Moore hit .348 (8 for 23). Additionally, Churchwell hit three home runs and knocked in seven runs, while Moore homered twice and also had seven RBIs. Churchwell also finished the tournament with three wins and a 0.93 ERA.

UC Davis, ranked No.1 in the initial NCAA West Region rankings, returns to action on Friday at Cal State Dominguez Hills. The Aggies have a one-game lead over the Toros atop the California Collegiate Athletic Association. UC Davis will then visit Cal State Bakersfield on Saturday. The Roadrunners are three games back. The Aggies have 10 conference games remaining.

Tournament MVP: Erin Kelly, Cal State Bakersfield

All-Tournament First Team
Cindy Gates, CSU Dominguez Hills
Angela Slaugh, Western New Mexico
Amy Mettee, UC San Diego
Kara Roberts, Humboldt State
Brandy Choy Foo, Hawaii Pacific
Jodie Rock, Western Washington
Adrienne Moore, Western Washington
Michelle Terrazas, Cal State Stanislaus
Tara Licuanan, Cal State Bakersfield
Katie King, Cal State Bakersfield
Susan Churchwell, UC Davis
Lindsay Moore, UC Davis

All-Tournament Second Team
Stephanie Kurz, UC San Diego
Lacey Cope, Humboldt State
Sonja Garnett, San Francisco State
Danielle McDavid, Sonoma State
Nicole Ramirez, San Francisco State
Janet Briscoe, CSU Dominguez Hills
Rachel Lacar, Hawaii Pacific
Jackie Miller, Cal State Stanislaus
Sephora Scoubes, Cal State Stanislaus
Megan Farnham, Chico State