Guier Remains Perfect At The Ojai

Robin Guier improved to 9-0 in her Ojai career. (Wayne Tilcock, Davis Enterprise)
Robin Guier improved to 9-0 in her Ojai career. (Wayne Tilcock, Davis Enterprise)

April 28, 2006

OJAI, Calif. - Robin Guier continued her quest to repeat as the women's independent colleges champion at the 106th Annual Ojai Valley Tournament. Guier advanced to the quarterfinals with a straight-sets victory Friday morning. The win gives her nine straight wins at the tournament dating back to last season. Friday's action also featured a pair of doubles matches featuring the Aggies in the round of 16.

Guier won twice in opening round action Thursday before defeating Fresno Pacific's Anna Karavayeva, 6-4, 6-2, in Friday's round of 16. The sophomore's win sets up a quarterfinal match-up against Claremont-Mudd Scripps' Jeannine Laing Saturday at 9:30 a.m. Semifinal action will take place early Saturday afternoon. Guier holds a 9-0 career mark at The Ojai. In addition, the Aggies' Ally Muller was defeated by Azusa Pacific's Beth Daniels, 6-4, 6-2, in the round of 16.

In Friday's doubles action, two Aggie teams entered the day with matches scheduled in the round of 16. Guier and Muller improved to 3-0 for the tournament with a 6-2, 6-4 victory over Lindsay Hardyt and Medini Sharma of Grand Canyon University. The duo was then defeated in the quarterfinals by Point Loma Nazerene's Andrea Montoya and Ashley Strimple, 7-6, 6-4. UC Davis' Jenna Kappel and Nancy Mok were defeated by FPU's Karavayeva and Angie Minova, 6-2, 6-4 in the round of 16.

Ojai Valley Tournament Results (Friday)

Singles (Round of 16)
Beth Daniels (APU) d Ally Muller (UCD), 6-4, 6-2.
Robin Guier (UCD) d. Anna Karavayeva (FPU), 6-4, 6-2.

Doubles (Round of 16)
Karavayeva/Minova (FPU) d. Kappel/Mok (UCD), 6-2, 6-4.
Guier/Muller (UCD) d. Hardy/Sharma (GCU), 6-2, 6-4.

Doubles (Quarterfinals)
Montoya/Strimple (PLN) d. Guier/Muller (UCD), 7-6, 6-4.

Saturday's Schedule

Singles (Quarterfinals)
Robin Guier (UCD) vs Jeannine Laing (CMS), 9:30 a.m.
Semifinals to follow at 12:30 p.m.