Aggies’ tournament rally in main draw ends

Oct. 20, 2017

Draws | Results

PALO ALTO, Calif. —
Coming off a successful first day of tournament play for the women’s squad, the Aggies were not able to maintain their main draw standings in both singles and doubles play after the second day of the ITA Northwest Regional Championships at the Taube Family Tennis Center at Stanford. 

With three UC Davis women entering the Round of 32 in the main draw for singles play to start off the second day of the tournament, all three Aggies fell short of garnering match victories against their seeded opponents. Seniors Kristy Jorgensen and Lani-Rae Green were defeated by the No. 3 seed Sybille Gauvain from San Jose State and the No. 9 seed Kateriana Stloukalova from Fresno State, respectively, while sophomore Kristina Breisacher lost the Round of 32 title against the No. 9 seeded Oregon player Shweta Sangwan.

Similarly, three Aggie doubles duos entered into the Round of 64 main draw for doubles play, and all three finished with main draw ends. The 2017 Saint Mary’s Fall Invitational Flight “B” doubles champions Breisacher and sophomore Nikita Pradeep were defeated by the No. 5 seeded duo Georgia Lawson and Emma Wilson from Fresno State, while the No. 5 seeded Aggie duo of Jorgensen and sophomore Kelsie Bryant also suffered a loss against Gonzaga’s Alexandra Bourguignon and Haruna Tsuruta.

Green and sophomore Isabella von Ebbe came close to a match victory, but it was Oregon’s Daniela Nasser and Nia Rose that advanced on to the Round of 16 instead. 

ITA Northwest Regional Championships
Hosted by Stanford
Oct. 20 — Day 2 Results (UC Davis student-athletes only)
Taube Family Tennis Center

Round of 32
(3) Sybille Gauvain (SJSU) def. Kristy Jorgensen (UCD), 6-0, 6-4
(9) Shweta Sangwan (ORE) def. Kristina Breisacher (UCD), 6-1, 6-3
(9) Katerina Stloukalova (FRES) def. Lani-Rae Green (UCD), 6-3, 6-3

Consolation — Round of 64
Anna Oberg (PORT) def. Jessica Walker (UCD), 6-3, 6-1

Round of 32
(5) Georgia Lawson/Emma Wilson (FRES) def. Kristina Breisacher / Nikita Pradeep (UCD), 8-3
Daniela Nasser/Nia Rose (ORE) def. Lani-Rae Green / Isabella von Ebbe (UCD), 8-6
Alexandra Bourguignon/Haruna Tsuruta (GON) def. (5) Kelsie Bryant / Kristy Jorgensen (UCD), 8-3

— #GoAgs —