Women's Tennis Faces No. 5 Stanford

Melissa Kobayakawa won at No. 6 singles against No. 29 Arizona. (Shayne Dwyer/ASU Athletics)

Jan. 30, 2013

Live Video

DAVIS, Calif. - The UC Davis women's tennis team continues its challenging nonconference schedule when the Aggies travel to take on No. 5 Stanford on Thursday at 3 p.m. at Taube Stadium in Stanford.

A live video stream of Thursday's action is available via ucdavisaggies.com or gostanford.com.

UC Davis returns to action for the first time since opening the weekend with three straight matches in Arizona. The Aggies claimed a 6-1 victory over Northern Arizona, rallying to win all six singles matches after dropping the doubles point.

The Aggies then took on back-to-back ranked opponents in No. 29 Arizona and No. 37 Arizona State. Melissa Kobayakawa picked up a singles victory against the Wildcats, cruising to a 6-4, 6-2 win at No. 6 singles to highlight the match, but UC Davis dropped a 6-1 decision to Arizona.

Lauren Curry took Arizona State's 87th-ranked Desirae Krawczyk to a three-set tiebreaker match at No. 2 singles. After dropping the first set 6-3, the Aggie senior came back to claim the second set, cruising to a 6-1 victory. The duo then battled in the third set with Krawczyk edging out Curry 7-6 (10-5).

Most recently, Stanford participated at the NCTC Classic in Indian Wells, Calif. as well as the Freeman Memorial Invitational in Las Vegas.

The Cardinal is led by junior Nicole Gibbs, the reigning NCAA singles champion and one half of the 2012 doubles national champion. Last year, Gibbs bested her own teammate Mallory Burdette in the singles final, then paired up with Burdette to win the doubles title the very next day.

Freshman Krista Hardebeck ranks No. 2 in the ITA preseason singles rankings while sophomore Ellen Tsay is ranked 55th in Div. I. Tsay finished her freshman season with a No. 74 national singles ranking after posting a 24-8 overall record and a 17-4 dual mark.



UC Davis will host Santa Clara in its home opener on Sunday, Feb. 3 at 11 a.m. at the Marya Welch Tennis Center.