Bracket Set for Big West Tennis Championship

Lauren Curry and her women's tennis teammates will begin this year's championship run Thursday morning against UC Riverside.

April 22, 2013


April 20 vs. Sonoma State: W, 6-1 


Thursday, April 25
UC Riverside Highlanders (1-15, 0-9 BWC) vs. UC Davis Aggies (10-12, 4-5 BWC)
Big West Conference Women's Tennis Championship
Indian Wells Tennis Garden (Indian Wells, Calif.) - 11 a.m.

DAVIS, Calif. –
With a 6-1 victory in last Saturday’s season finale now in the books, UC Davis will return to the courts Thursday morning at 11 a.m. to face the UC Riverside Highlanders in the first round of the Big West Women’s Tennis Championship from the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, Calif.

Ending the year with victories in two of its last three matches, No. 7 seed UC Davis will look to continue its winning ways against No. 10 UC Riverside, a team the Aggies defeated by a 6-1 score in the second of their season-ending six-match homestand. 

On that day, UC Davis swept all three doubles matches and took five of six singles events to earn its second home conference win of the season.

Leading the way for the Aggies are Melissa Kobayakawa, Nicole Koehly and senior Ellie Edles.

Earning a team-high 15 wins out her 21 singles matches played this year, Kobayakawa posted winning records when competing in the third, fourth, fifth and sixth slots. Even though the junior suffered half of her singles losses at the fourth position, she still earned four victories and only dropped three matches combined out her three as a No. 3, seven as a No. 5 and four as a No. 6.

Koehly completed her junior season with 12-5 dual record, earning eight victories at the No. 6 position. Koehly also competed as a No. 5 and, as was the case with Kobayakawa, posted winning records in both spots as she captured wins in four of six matches.

Storming to a 9-1 finish is Edles, one of three seniors who will end their careers this weekend at the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. Included in that string of singles success is a three-set victory over UC Riverside’s Natalie McKay by a 6-4, 3-6, 1-0 (11-9) score.

Lauren Curry and Zoe Davidson will also make their final trip to Indian Wells this week.

The winner of Thursday’s morning matchup will advance to the Quarterfinals and compete against No. 2 seed Long Beach State Friday morning at 8 a.m.

In the other first round match, No. 8 Pacific will take on No. 9 Cal Poly at 11 a.m. with the winner earning a repeat matchup against top-seeded UC Irvine. 

The seeding for the remaining teams includes UC Santa Barbara at No. 3, Hawai’i at No. 4, Cal State Fullerton and Cal State Northridge at No. 5 and No. 6 respectively. 

Additional information about this year's Big West Women's Tennis Championship is available by clicking here.


2013 Big West Women’s Tennis Championship
April 25-28, 2013
Indian Wells, Calif. (Indian Wells Tennis Garden)

First Round – April 25

Match D: No. 8 Pacific vs. No. 9 Cal Poly – 11 a.m.
Match E: No. 7 UC Davis vs. No. 10 UC Riverside – 11 a.m.

Quarterfinals – April 26

Match F: No. 1 UC Irvine vs. No. 8/9 Winner – 8 a.m.
Match G: No. 3 UC Santa Barbara vs. No. 6 Cal State Northridge – 8 a.m.
Match H: No. 2 Long Beach State vs. No. 7/10 Winner – 8 a.m.
Match I: No. 4 Hawai’i vs. No. 5 Cal State Fullerton – 11 a.m.

Semifinals – April 27

Match L: Match F Winner vs. Match I Winner – 9 a.m.
Match M: Match G Winner vs. Match H Winner – 9 a.m.

Championship – April 28

Winner Match L vs. Winner Match M – 9 a.m.