UC Davis Announces Student-Athlete Award Winners

May 28, 2014

DAVIS, Calif. - Four-time All-Big West Conference selection Megan Heneghan, two-time Big West Track Athlete of the Year Ashley Marshall, and Big West Conference individual champion golfer Matt Hansen, have been named winners of UC Davis Athletics' top student-athlete awards for the 2013-14 season, it was announced Wednesday.

Heneghan, the 2014 Big West Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year selection from UC Davis, will receive the W.P. Lindley Award as the department's outstanding student-athlete.

Marshall, an all-conference selection while helping lead the Aggies to their third consecutive Big West track and field title, has been named the Dr. Hubert Heitman Award winner as the outstanding female student-athlete while Hansen, a four-time All-Big West selection who set a school record for stroke average in 2013-14, is the winner of the Colby E. "Babe" Slater Award as the outstanding male student-athlete.

Presented on an annual basis, all three awards will be presented during the annual Cal Aggie Athletics Hall of Fame and Student Awards Ceremony on June 7 at Freeborn Hall.

Senior Megan

Heneghan, a senior from Tustin, Calif., capped an outstanding career for the Aggies in 2013-14, finishing 18-10 overall and 13-5 in dual matches atop the UC Davis single lineup, while teaming with partner Melissa Kobayakawa to finish 18-3 in doubles - a mark that included a school-record 16 consecutive wins to close out the season - en route to all-conference honorable mention honors in doubles.

A three-time Big West Conference Athlete of the Week on the court in 2014, Heneghan also shined in the classroom, twice earning Big West All-Academic Team laurels and Intercollegiate Tennis Association Scholar-Athlete honors as a sophomore and junior. She also helped the Aggies' women's tennis team to an NCAA Public Recognition Award for an outstanding Academic Progress Rate (APR) for the seventh consecutive season with a perfect score of 1,000.

Outside of her athletic and academic achievements, Heneghan, who will graduate with a degree in communication next month, served an internship with the UC Davis athletics marketing office, helped coordinate the department's social media efforts and has helped promote the university's 22 intercollegiate athletic teams. She also served as her team's representative on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), helping organize such events as the "Aggie Ball" and "Aggie Idol," and has worked with other student-athletes to help serve Thanksgiving dinner to the area's homeless.

Junior Ashley

Marshall, a junior from Moreno Valley, Calif., successfully defended her Big West titles in both the 100- (11.36) and 200-meter (23.85) sprints at the conference championship meet on her home track earlier this month, narrowly missing her own meet record in the 100 (11.34) that she established as a sophomore. She was also part of the Aggies' school-record 4x100 relay that finished in 45.02 against rival Sacramento State at the Causeway Classic Dual and was second at the conference meet.

Marshall doubled in the 100 and 200 last year, as well as running a leg of the conference champion 4x100 relay. She later advanced to the NCAA Finals in Eugene, Ore., in the 100, earning All-America honorable mention accolades. She will take her talents to Fayetteville, Ark., for the NCAA West Region Prelim Meet this week, hosted by the University of Arkansas. Marshall will compete in the 100, 200 and as a member of the 4x100. Marshall is currently ranked 11th nationally in the 100.

Senior Matt

One of 27 players selected to the PING All-West Region team in 2013-14, and a strong candidate for All-America honors, Hansen capped a stellar career by winning two of his final three tournaments, including back-to-back wins at the Aggies' own El Macero Classic and the Big West Championship. He finished the year with five top-10 finishes and posted a low round of 65 at The Goodwin at Stanford on March 30. He finished the season with a school-record 70.22 stroke average.

The senior from Los Osos, Calif., was a collective 29-under-par for the season en route to first-team All-Big West honors, helping the Aggies finish second at a weather-shortened Big West Championship. UC Davis earned its first-ever at-large berth to the NCAA Regionals this season.

Other nominees for the Lindley Award include Hannah Curran (water polo), Taylor Jern (soccer), Melissa Kobayakawa (tennis) and Ana Marija Sola (soccer).

Others nominated for the Heitman Award include Liliana Alvarez (swimming & diving), Alycia Cridebring (cross country, track & field), Sydnee Fipps (basketball), Allyson Hansen (water polo), Megan Heneghan (tennis), Taylor Jern (soccer), Elizabeth Landry (lacrosse), Cloey LemMon (field hockey), Anna Shumaker (gymnastics) and Ana Marija Sola (soccer). 

Marcus Johnson (track & field), Gabe Manzanares (football), Bernie Rogers (water polo), and Omar Zeenni (soccer), were also nominated for the Slater Award.

In addition to the individual student-athlete awards, the Cal Aggie Athletics Hall of Fame ceremonies will feature inductions for longtime cross county and track mentor Sue Williams, women's basketball standout Jessica Campbell, football's John Faletoese, water polo player Christi Raycraft (Warner), baseball's Tony Schifano, and track and field's Tanisha Silas (Young).

Additionally, former aquatics standout turned legendary water polo coach Dante Dettamanti becomes the fourth recipient of the Aggie Legacy Award for outstanding achievements in an athletics-related field since leaving the university.

More information on each of the honorees is available here: http://www.ucdavisaggies.com/genrel/031214aaa.html.