ITA honors Jorgensen, von Ebbe, women’s tennis program

Aug. 3, 2017

TEMPE, Ariz. - Kristy Jorgensen, Isabella von Ebbe and the women’s tennis program earned honors from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association when the organization announced its 2017 All-Academic Teams.

For the fifth-straight season, the program received recognition for holding a cumulative GPA of 3.20 or above — a figure that includes individual averages from all of last year’s letterwinners.

Including this announcement, the Aggies have six All-Academic Team awards to their credit since the end of the 2004 season — the first time the ITA bestowed accolades for academic excellence.

In this year’s announcement, the organization also revealed its list of scholar-athletes, one that included senior Kristy Jorgensen and junior Isabella von Ebbe. This is the second time in Jorgensen’s career that she earned Scholar-Athlete status and the first occasion for von Ebbe.

To receive ITA Scholar-Athlete recognition, a player needs to earn a varsity letter, hold a GPA of 3.50 or higher and maintain student status at her respective institution for at least two terms.

Under head coach Bill Maze’s tutelage, since the ITA started honoring student-athletes for their academic achievements, 38 Aggies met all criteria and received individual awards.



Jorgensen, a materials science & engineering major, and von Ebbe, a mathematics major, also earned a spot on the Big West’s Academic All-Conference Team when conference officials announced this year’s honorees.

UC Davis Women’s Tennis - ITA Academic Awards

2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2004

2017: Kristy Jorgensen, Isabella von Ebbe
2016: Alex Huie, Kamila Kecki, Tiffany Pham, Frederique Sleiffer
2015: Kristy Jorgensen, Jessie Lee, Tiffany Pham, Layla Sanders, Frederique Sleiffer
2014: Melissa Kobayakawa, Samantha Martino, Claire Meunier, Tiffany Pham, Frederique Sleiffer
2013: Lauren Curry, Megan Heneghan, Melissa Kobayakawa, Tiffany Pham
2012: Lauren Curry, Megan Heneghan, Melissa Kobayakawa
2011: Lauren Curry, Melissa Kobayakawa, Shawdee Rouhafza
2009: Randi Schuler
2008: Jessica Harris, Andrea Phillips, Shawdee Rouhafza, Randi Schuler
2006: Jenna Kappel, Ally Muller
2005: Ashley Lehman, Ally Muller
2004: Jennifer Fong, Ashley Lehman, Ally Muller