Nine Aggies capture ACWPC All-Academic honors

June 16, 2017

DAVIS, Calif. - Nine members of the UC Davis women’s water polo program, plus the team as a whole, captured All-Academic Awards from the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches, it was announced Friday afternoon.

Senior Hannah Harvey and junior Greta Kohlmoos led the Aggies with grade-point averages in the Outstanding category of 3.71 to 4.00. Freshman Abbey Pfefferlen and senior Avery Dotterer made the list under the Superior classification for GPAs of 3.41 to 3.70. Then sophomore McKenna Hauss, sophomore Annie Kutt, freshman Ariana Momen, freshman Chloe Robinson and senior Emily Perry each appeared on the honor roll in the Excellent group (3.20-3.40).

Finally, UC Davis was one of 42 teams to capture team awards with a combined GPA of 3.08. To earn ACWPC All-Academic distinction, a student-athlete must hold a cumulative GPA of 3.20 or higher, and compete in at least 50 percent of the team’s contests for that year. This is the fourth career nod for Harvey, who was also a finalist for the university’s W.P. Lindley Award as the top scholar-athlete of the year. Kohlmoos, who was announced as an honorable-mention ACWPC All-American on June 5, earned her third ACWPC academic award while Hauss earned her second. 

UC Davis finished 16-18 in 2017 and ranked 12th in the final national coaches’ poll.

UC Davis honorees only.

OUTSTANDING (3.71-4.00)
Hannah Harvey (Sr., Clovis, Calif., Neurobiology, Physiology & Behavior)
Greta Kohlmoos (Jr., Livermore, Calif., Cinema & Digital Media Major)

SUPERIOR (3.41-3.70)
Abbey Pfefferlen (Fr., Morgan Hills, Calif., Biological Sciences)
Avery Dotterer (Sr., Sacramento, Calif.., Political Science)

EXCELLENT (3.20-3.40)
McKenna Hauss (So., Clovis, Calif., Mathematics)
Annie Kutt (So., Westlake Village, Calif., Chemistry)
Ariana Momen (Fr., North Vancouver, B.C., Undeclared)
Chloe Robinson (Fr., Temecula, Calif., Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)
Emily Perry (Sr., Sacramento, Calif., Animal Science)

TEAM (3.00 and up)
UC Davis